Welcoming the Newest Discovery Fellows

Sir Michael Moritz with Discovery Fellows at Fall Workshop and Reception

On November 7, the Graduate Division and University Development and Alumni Relations welcomed the newest cohort of Discovery Fellows at the annual Discovery Fellows Fall Workshop and Reception, held at Mission Bay. The afternoon featured an informal lunch and a communications workshop for all current Fellows, followed by a reception for Fellows, faculty, University leadership, and donors.


Graduate Dean Elizabeth Watkins welcomed the 26 new Discovery Fellows, and Jessica Jencek, senior director of University Development, provided them with an orientation to the Discovery Fellows program, with some help from Professor Charles Craik. All current Fellows were invited to the interactive workshop on “Articulating Life Science Research” presented by Darrell Godfrey of Advancement Resources, a firm with expertise in providing philanthropic training to leaders in academia, healthcare, and the sciences. Discovery Fellows program founding donor Sir Michael Moritz (pictured above with Fellows) shared remarks with students before joining them for refreshments and conversation at the reception.

The Discovery Fellows program was established in 2013 with a generous gift of $30 million from Sir Michael Moritz and his wife Harriet Heyman to the UCSF Graduate Division to ensure the future of PhD education programs in the basic sciences. Through additional gifts from Moritz and Heyman as well as over 1,000 other donors, the fund—now at over $80 million—has become the largest endowed program for PhD students in the history of the 10-campus University of California. The students chosen as Discovery Fellows serve as ambassadors for UCSF’s basic science programs, with the hope that they will become outspoken advocates for the importance of the innovative research going on at UCSF.

Since the program’s inception, there have been a total of 127 Discovery Fellows from 10 basic science PhD programs, including 73 current fellows. Program alumni have gone on to a variety of positions in academia and industry research.

Congratulations to these 26 students who were named Discovery Fellows in fall 2016:

Francesca Aloisio – Biomedical Sciences
Christine Bowman – Pharmaceutical Science & Pharmacogenomics
Yiran Chen – Bioengineering
Adolfo Cuesta – Chemistry and Chemical Biology
Kyle Fowler – Tetrad
John Gagnon – Biomedical Sciences
Nairi Hartooni – Tetrad
Kaitlin Hulce – Chemistry and Chemical Biology
Emily Jones – Biomedical Sciences
Mara Ariel Kauss – Biomedical Sciences
Natalie Korn – Bioengineering
Ashley Libby – Developmental and Stem Cell Biology
Andrew Mancini – Biomedical Sciences
Marco Mravic – Biophysics
Jonathon Muncie – Bioengineering
Stefan Niekamp – Biophysics
Lindsay Osso – Neuroscience
Karina Perlaza – Tetrad
Karen Ruiz – Tetrad
Perry Spratt – Neuroscience
Meena Subramaniam – Biological and Medical Informatics
Shuyu Tang – Bioengineering
Tess Veuthey – Neuroscience
Jasper Williams – Pharmaceutical Science & Pharmacogenomics
Sarah Wong – Oral and Craniofacial Sciences
Xiaowei Yan – Tetrad


Photo by Sonya Yruel