NSF Graduate Research Fellows Announced

Twenty UCSF PhD students in the basic sciences have been named National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellows for 2023. Additionally, seven students received honorable mentions.

First awarded in 1952, the National Science Foundation's (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) is the country’s oldest fellowship program that directly supports graduate students in various STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) fields. The GRFP helps ensure the vitality of the human resource base of science and engineering in the United States and reinforces its diversity. The program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited United States institutions.

The GRFP has a long history of selecting recipients who achieve high levels of success in their future academic and professional careers. Since 1952, NSF has funded over 60,000 Graduate Research Fellowships out of more than 500,000 applicants. Currently, 42 Fellows have gone on to become Nobel laureates, and more than 450 have become members of the National Academy of Sciences. 

2023 GRFP Awardees

  • Olivia Barnhill – Neuroscience
  • Gabriel Braun – Chemistry and Chemical Biology
  • Jing-Yi Chung – Biomedical Sciences
  • Emily Corrigan – Developmental and Stem Cell Biology
  • Radhika Dalal – Biophysics
  • Shiron Drusinsky – Biological and Medical Informatics
  • Joseph Floeder – Neuroscience
  • Jasmine Garcia – Oral and Craniofacial Sciences
  • Riana Hunter – Biomedical Sciences
  • Tracy Knight – Tetrad
  • Thaybeth Malavé-Méndez – Pharmaceutical Sciences and Pharmacogenomics
  • Sophia Nelson – Biomedical Sciences
  • Anagh Sinha Ravi – Neuroscience
  • Estelle Ronayne – Biophysics
  • David Sanchez Godinez – Tetrad
  • Madison Seto – Chemistry and Chemical Biology
  • Joshua Steighner – Neuroscience
  • Zachary Stensland – Biomedical Sciences
  • Sunrae Taloma – Neuroscience
  • Madeleine Urbanek – Biomedical Sciences

2023 Honorable Mentions

  • Lahin Lalani – Neuroscience
  • Alex Lee – Biological and Medical Informatics
  • Grace Ramey – Biological and Medical Informatics
  • Sneha Rao – Developmental and Stem Cell Biology
  • Lauren Shechtman – Developmental and Stem Cell Biology
  • Sarah Wade – Neuroscience
  • Caroline Wilson – Tetrad

Fellowship awardees receive a three-year annual stipend of $37,000 along with a $12,000 cost of education allowance for tuition and fees (paid to the institution), as well as access to opportunities for professional development available to NSF-supported graduate students.

Learn more about the National Science Foundation and the GRFP.