Lloyd M. Kozloff Fellowship

Lloyd Kozloff


This competitive fellowship rewards excellence in research. Prior academic achievements and potential for future contributions to the health sciences also are considered.


  • PhD students entering up to their sixth year of study
  • No citizenship requirements
  • In any graduate academic program

Required Nomination Documents/Information

1st year Students

  • Undergraduate Institution
  • Prior graduate institution, if applicable
  • GPA (most current)
  • One recommendation letter from the student's application OR one recommendation letter from a UCSF faculty member (5 MB limit, PDF file)
  • CV or statement of academic achievements, including abstracts of published papers, all postsecondary honors and activities (from application for admissions) - 5 MB limit, PDF file
  • Copy of the transcript submitted with the application for admissions (5 MB limit, PDF file)

Students years 2-6

  • Statement of Interest (5 MB limit, PDF file)
  • Formatted CV (5 MB limit, PDF file in CV template format)
  • Unofficial UCSF Transcript (5 MB limit, PDF file)
  • Faculty Letter (5 MB limit, PDF file)


  • One award
  • $10,000 stipend divided equally over a twelve month period, September-August
  • The award does not include tuition or fees
  • The award is not renewable


Lloyd Kozloff, pictured above, was an influential microbiologist and dean emeritus of the UCSF Graduate Division. Kozloff moved to UCSF in 1980. He was appointed professor of Microbiology and Immunology and served as dean of the Graduate Division from 1981 to 1991. He took great satisfaction in mentoring graduate students. When Kozloff retired from UCSF, a scholarship fund in his name was created to support top-performing graduate students. Contributions in his honor can be made online or via mail at this address: Lloyd Kozloff Scholarship Endowment, Fund S0026, UCSF, P.O. Box 45339, San Francisco, CA 94145-0339 Read more about Dr. Kozloff in UCSF News.



Elisabeth Gebreegziabher – Epidemiology and Translational Science


Elissa Fink ‒ Biophysics
Nadia Mohammed Elmassalami Ayad ‒ Bioengineering

Learn more about how this and other internal fellowships are awarded.