Achievement Rewards for College Scientists (ARCS) Scholarship




The ARCS competitive scholarship rewards excellence in research. Selection is based primarily on the exceptional promise of the nominee to make a significant contribution to the advancement of science, and to the material and intellectual welfare of all people.


  • Outstanding PhD students entering years 1-5
  • US citizens
  • Students must be enrolled in one of the following programs: Bioengineering, Biological and Medical Informatics, Biomedical Sciences, Biophysics, Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Developmental and Stem Cell Biology, Epidemiology and Translational Science, Neuroscience, Oral and Craniofacial Sciences, Pharmaceutical Sciences and Pharmacogenomics, TETRAD
  • GPA of 3.5 or higher
  • Programs are encouraged to nominate previous ARCS Scholars for repeat awards.


  • Twelve awards
  • $16,000 stipend over a nine month period (September-May)
  • The award does not include tuition or fees.


Funding for the ARCS Scholarship is provided through a grant from the ARCS Foundation, whose mission is to advance science and technology in the United States by providing financial awards to academically outstanding US citizens studying to complete degrees in science, engineering and medical research. Visit the ARCS Foundation website to find out more. The Graduate Division and our students are grateful for this generous support.


Seth Axen – Biological and Medical Informatics
Ryan Boileau – Developmental and Stem Cell Biology
R.A. Greenstein – Tetrad
Nerissa Hoglen – Neuroscience
Austin Hsu – Biomedical Sciences
Amanda Irish – Epidemiology and Translational Science
Paul Klauser – Chemistry and Chemical Biology
Natalie Korn – Bioengineering
Tara McIntyre– Biomedical Sciences
Beau Norgeot – Pharmaceutical Sciences and Pharmacogenomics
Michael Ryan – Neuroscience
Alexander Wolff – Biophysics

Sarah Ackley  – Epidemiology and Translational Science
Taylor Arhar – Chemistry and Chemical Biology
Benjamin Barad – Biophysics
Lauren Byrnes – Developmental and Stem Cell Biology
Witney Chen – Neuroscience
Stephanie Holden – Neuroscience
Natanya Kerper – Biomedical Sciences
Natalie Korn – Bioengineering
Charlotte Nelson – Biological and Medical Informatics
Diana Summers – Tetrad
Jinny Sun – Bioengineering
Tia Tummino – Pharmaceutical Sciences and Pharmacogenomics


To learn more about how this and other internal fellowships are awarded, visit the Internal Fellowships page.


Pictured in group photo above: (left to right) Tara McIntyre, Ryan Boileau, Natalie Korn, Alexander Wolff, Amanda Irish, Austin Hsu, Nerissa Hoglen, Michael Ryan. Not pictured: Seth Axen, R.A. Greenstein, Paul Klauser, Beau Norgeot. (photo by Elizabeth Silva)